Andrew W.K. album cover for 'You're Not Alone.' Photo provided.
Andrew W.K. album cover for 'You're Not Alone.' Photo provided.

The Beauty Within Music by Andrew W.K.

The group known as Andrew W.K. is releasing their upcoming album You’re Not Alone on March 2 via RED Music/Sony Music.

They have recently released a single for the upcoming album titled ‘Music Is Worth Living For.’


Recently, Andrew W.K. shared this passage from the recording process:

“‘Music Is Worth Living For’ is an exaltation of my love for music itself. It’s also me pleading with myself to recognize music’s eternal power and glory, in the face of hardship and pain. The song is an effort to remind myself that life is worth living, if for no other reason than because of the beauty music conveys. Music is a mysterious phenomenon – it seems both to magically overwhelm and sublimate our suffering, but also to starkly dignify the struggles of our daily life. The physical power of music must be coming from some sort of unshakable truth, sent from the primal core of all being. It’s so effortless and elegant in its intensity. I truly believe that listening to music can transform you into a better person. In that way, all my songs have been me just trying to get better, trying to cheer myself up, trying to convince myself that there is hope and joy in the world no matter how dark it may seem. And the lyrics of this song, especially in the verses, are me calling out my own interior negative forces – the lowest and darkest impulses inside me, that wish to hold me down in despair – and I’m telling those malevolent urges once and for all that they won’t break me. I will persevere. And when I triumph, somehow, someday, it will be because of music. This song is a celebration of that essential and divine life-force that music is both emanating from and emitting to us. This song is about how good music makes it feel to not be dead. As the last line of the chorus proclaims, ‘Music makes me want to stay alive.’ That’s probably the truest lyric I’ve ever written.” – Andrew W.K.

Browse over the track list for the upcoming album. Preview new music on YouTube featuring the debut single titled ‘Music Is Worth Living For.’

Also, dive into the history of Andrew W.K. with a clip from an interview with Larry King.

You’re Not Alone Track List
1. The Power of Partying
2. Music Is Worth Living For
3. Ever Again
4. I Don’t Know Anything
5. The Feeling of Being Alive
6. Party Mindset
7. The Party Never Dies
8. Give Up On You
9. Keep On Going
10. In Your Darkest Moments
11. The Devil’s On Your Side
12. Break The Curse
13. Total Freedom
14. Beyond Oblivion
15. Confusion and Clarity
16. You’re Not Alone

Watch over a section of an interview between Andrew W.K. and Larry King on YouTube.

After reviewing articles online, and reading through commentary on this subject, the best conclusion I have found is that this the person being interviewed by Larry King is Andrew W.K.

It is probably that Steev Mike is a group of people that helped Andrew W.K. with his early material, and then wanted to distance themselves from him.

The video content that I have reviewed shows the same person as the frontman, but his producers have changed over the years. I believe that he made the doubt more intense during an interview when he said “I’m not the guy you’ve seen from the I Get Wet album… I’m not that same person. I don’t just mean that in a philosophical or conceptual way. It’s not the same person at all.”

That being said, physically, he is still the same person, but mentally Andrew W.K. has changed along with his production style.

Previous articleRose McGowan Shares Empowerment with her Manifesto ‘BRAVE’ on January 30
Next articleThe GRAMMYs Add Kendrick Lamar, U2, Nile Rodgers with CHIC, and Sam Smith to their 60th Anniversary
Matthew McGuire is the founder and editor of Crescent Vale News. In 2014, he acquired a master's degree in Professional Media and Media Management from Southern Illinois University Carbondale.