SHARE
Sundance Institute logo. Photo by: Sundance.org
Sundance Institute logo. Photo by: Sundance.org

Musical Performances, Live Discussions, Panels, and Additional Events Scheduled for Sundance 2018

The Sundance Film Festival has announced a series of onstage and offstage events for attendees to check out in Park City, Utah.

Dive into in-depth data covering Sundance in 2017 with an online PDF.

Take a look at the recently announced events with music, film and interactive moments to connect with at the Sundance Film Festival.

ASCAP Music Café

Sundance ASCAP Music Café is free and open to all festival credential holders that are 21 years of age and older. Performers include:

  • Michael Franti
  • Brett Dennen
  • Mr. Hudson
  • Ruelle
  • Ethan Gruska
  • Striking Matches

A special “CMA Songwriter Series” lineup will include: Jillian Jacqueline, Steven Lee Olsen and Tenille Townes.

The annual BMI Snowball (open to all Festival credential holders) will feature: Rita Wilson, Morgan Saint, Skyler Day and Craig Wedren.

BMI’s Composer/Director Roundtable

This year’s panelists for BMI’s composer/director roundtable includes Director of the Sundance Institute Film Music Program Peter Golub, composer Jeff Beal and director Lauren Greenfield(Generation Wealth), composer Paul Cantelon and director Susan Lacy (Jane Fonda in Five Acts), composer Miriam Cutler and director Kimberly Reed (Dark Money), composer Craig Wedren (A Futile and Stupid Gesture), composer Laura Karpman (Half The Picture & Inventing Tomorrow), composer Heather McIntoshand director Amy Scott (Hal), composer Jongnic Bontemps and director Mel Jones (Leimert Park), composer Kris Bowers (Monsters and Men), composer Dustin O’Halloran (Puzzle), composer Sam Bisbee and director Rudy Faldez (The Sentence).

Day One Press Conference

The annual press conference will be held on Thursday, January 18, at 12 p.m. PST / 1 p.m. MST / 3 p.m. EST.

The conference will provide insight from the Sundance Institute Founder and President Robert Redford, Executive Director Keri Putnam and Sundance Film Festival Director John Cooper. They will speak with Barbara Chai, head of arts and culture coverage at Dow Jones Media Group and the editor of MarketWatch Entertainment, followed by a Q&A with press in attendance.

Cinema Cafe with will.i.am and Kevin Smith

This event will take place Friday, January 19 at 10:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. ET.

A Celebration of Music and Film

The event will be held on Saturday, January 20, 6:00-9:00 p.m. PT / 7:00-10:00 p.m. MT / 9:00 p.m.-midnight ET at The Shop in Park City.

This year’s rendition of the festival’s premier music event presents an evening with Rock & Roll Hall-of-Famer Joan Jett. In celebration of the documentary premiere for Bad Reputation, Joan Jett & the Blackhearts will take the stage at The Shop in Park City for one night only.

Jett has been a trailblazer for women in the music industry, from her glam rock anthems with The Runaways to her pioneering punk performances with the Blackhearts. A beacon for multiple generations of rock musicians, Jett is not to be missed in concert.

The New Climate

This important event will be on Tuesday, January 23 at 1:30 p.m. PT / 2:30 p.m. MT / 4:30 p.m. ET

The impact of climate change has been felt dramatically by Native communities in the U.S. and around the world. Despite poisoned resources, corporatism, and an existential threat to their homelands, these vulnerable communities rarely fall under the spotlight, and their stories go untold.

For more on these events browse over the Sundance Institute’s main website.